Gunung Kawi

Despite how hot Bali was, we still decided to venture out to check out the island.  We booked a tour through the hotel, and one of the first stops was Gunung Kawi.  We didn’t know what to expect, but we went because the guidebook ‘told’ us to.

Gunung Kawi is an 11th century temple and funeral monuments dedicated to the King Anak Wungsu and family.  To get there, we had to take 250 steps down, which was the easy part.  The uncomfortable part was to don the free sarongs at the entrance.  I was already hot in my short dress, and now I had to cover up and block all breeze.

dsc_0273

Mom and dad in matching sarongs.

On our way down, we encountered several tourists coming up all sweaty and short of breath.  I thought, “Can’t be that bad coming up!?  You guys are out of shape”.

The view was spectacular.  Everything was so green and lush – so different than the yellow/brown I’m used to seeing in Southern California.

We got to see a small rice terrace from atop.

dsc_0268

The temple structures were not particularly ornate, but different enough to make it interesting.

 

 

As I lingered and fell behind while taking pictures, I ended up on a different path heading back and happened upon a set of steep steps.  I thought to myself, “This looks different.”

dsc_0293

Do I go up, or should I backtrack?

Ever the trooper for an adventure, I decided to go up and check out what awaited me at the top.

 

dsc_0295

A rice terrace up close!

The Balinese are famous for their rice terraces, as it is an ingenious design to water their rice while conserving water at the same time.

The path I took was actually parallel to the one we took going down, and eventually led me back to the 250 steps up.

As I was going up, I realized my mistake of mocking the ascending sweaty and breathy tourists, as I look about as bad as all of them did, maybe even worse with my sarong and skirt hiked up as high as was modestly acceptable.

dsc_0301

This is sister – I’ve never seen her sweat so much in her entire life.

 

This entry was posted in Indonesia, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gunung Kawi

  1. VY says:

    I’m like the alpaca, not made for hot weather.

Leave a Reply

