Shoe Month

October is shoe month – buying shoes that is.

The internet is a very useful tool.  However, it can pose significant damage to the wallet when one starts using the internet to shop.  The reason why I’ve started ‘poking’ around online is to look for some pointed-toe nude heels.  Why?  Because one, I don’t currently have one, and two, I’ve read that they ‘elongate’ your legs.

Being ‘petite’ (euphemism for ‘short’) all my life, I’m obsessed with ‘elongating’ my legs.  Heels and wedges are my friends, but not my bunions’.  As the bunions keep making their presence known, I’ve spent the last 3 years mostly in ballet flats.

I will throw on the heels for special occasions.

My favorite heels are my comfortable black patent Kate Spade Karolina – my go to shoes for weddings, parties, and funerals.

Kate Spade Black Patent Karolina

Kate Spade Black Patent Karolina

The only problem with the Karolina is that they’re round-toe, which do the exact opposite of ‘elongating’.  Hence my search.

As I’m looking around online, I happen upon more ballet flats – go figure.  I currently have 3 Vince Camuto Ellens in rotation, and one in it’s box as a back up.  Why I would need more ballet flats is beyond me.  But the more I look, the more I realize not all ballet flats are created equal.

One shoe in particular had me at ‘ballet’ – Repetto Cendrillon.

Repetto is a French brand that started out making ballet shoes.  Naturally, who could possibly make better ballet flats than a ballet shoe manufacturer?  After some research, hunting, and soul searching, I splurged…

I say splurge because I don’t normally spend too much money on shoes.  However, at this point in my life, I’ve come to the realization that life is too short to wear shoes made in China.  They are uncomfortable, not well made, and just end up in the back of the closet never to be seen again.  It’s just a waste of money.

So splurged I did, on not one…

Napa Asphalt Grey

but two Repetto Cendrillon Ballerinas.

Black Patent

Black Patent

The difference is apparent.  Worn throughout the day and not even a twinge of discomfort.  Not only that, the shoes are beautifully classic compared to all other ballet flats on the market.  If you check out their website, you’ll see a rainbow color of flats in all different materials.  The possibilities are endless, but I know to curb myself – although I already have a few ‘earmarked’.

At this point I’ve been side tracked, and I still don’t have my nude heels.

The search has now led me to these.

Stuart Weitzman Nouveau Black Patent

Stuart Weitzman Black Patent Nouveau

No, I am not color blind.  I’m fully aware that these are not nude, but aren’t they just absolutely, positively gorgeous!?!  They look like Manolos!  How can anyone in their right mind not LOVE these?  The best part?  50% off, because it’s the very last pair they have – in my size no less.

Yes, they are 4 inches – the bunions will have to take a backseat at this point.

Right now I’m debating whether it’s time to stop the hunt for nude heels.  If I continue on this path, I will end up with more shoes than I’ve ever planned to purchase.  I’ve always pride myself as being very in control and cost savvy when shopping, but when it comes to shoes I am unfortunately like putty.

This entry was posted in Shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shoe Month

  1. Juin says:

    Have you ever checked out lk bennett? They have very flattering shoes and clothes.

  2. LY says:

    Her shoes are very nice, but the lines don’t strike me. Reminds me of Brooks Brothers – conservative and buttoned down. If I’m going to be spending that kind of money I better be WOW’d.

Leave a Reply

