Slacker

Long Beach 1/2 is 2 weeks away, and I’ve missed 8 runs already.  At this point, I’m debating whether to even bother with the race.  Half marathons just don’t hold the same appeal, and I simply lack the motivation and dedication that I normally have when training for a full.  Why did I sign up then?  It was more to keep me training through the summer and maintain my fitness before some serious marathon training for Boston.  My goal for Boston is to qualify for Boston at Boston, but an even loftier goal is to run a 3:35.  So far my PB is a 3:40 on a faster course (than Boston), so shaving 5 minutes would be pushing it.  However, I just paid for a Boston-specific Greg McMillan training program indicating what my goals are, and I’m waiting to hear back from them and seeing what training plan they’ve devised for me.

On a separate note, I really need to lose about 10lbs for the race so I can be light like a gazelle.  I’ve slacked on my diet and went crazy with the meat while in NYC.  Need to get back to the meatless diet – said after having polished off a Costco rotisserie chicken, which I haven’t had in almost 3 years.

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

