How Old Is The Dog?

Ever since I got my new car, J’s been driving the Yaris to and from work.  Seriously, what other husband would make that kind of sacrifice for his wife?  If you’ve never been in a Yaris, you’re not missing much; but in case you’re curious, it feels like you’re going to war with every other car on the road.  You feel every jolt, hear every road noise, and you lose to every car at the green.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love my Yaris.  I love what it represents – practicality, frugality, and the notion of I-don’t-care-what-you-think-of-me-&-my car, but-I’m-comfortable-in-my-own-skin.  I just don’t enjoy driving it as much as I do the new car.  Imagine how J must feel, being downgraded from a fairly decent car to a Yaris.

We could have sold the Yaris instead of J’s car, but we held onto the Yaris because we need to transport the dog to and from his vet appointments and the kennel.  Which means, the Yaris is around for as long as the dog is alive.

The other night J asked an innocuous question, “How old is the dog?”  What he was really asking was – how long before I can get a new car.  Truff just turned 8 this year, and with how everything is going he’s got another 7-8 years – this dog is built like a bull, nothing can kill him.  Unfortunately for J, that’s another 7-8 years with the beloved Yaris.

I can only chuckle.

The invincible little bull.

The invincible little bull.

This entry was posted in Dogs, Marriage, Yaris. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Old Is The Dog?

  1. VY says:

    ridgeback look

Leave a Reply

