My Very 1st Sale!

I’m not much of a salesperson.  If I don’t want something I’ll just give it away, leave it on the curb and put a ‘FREE’ sign next to it.  I can’t be bothered with garage sales (or what J&I coin it ‘garbage sales’).

I recently bought a bag from kate spade during their Friends & Family sale that I was really excited about, but was rather disappointed when I received it.  I debated whether to keep it or return it, since giving it away was out of the question.  Then there was this even bigger problem – the lecture I would get from the husband.

Then the light bulb went on – if I got it on sale, maybe I could sell it on ebay for a profit.

Impulse buys - never buy anything late at night in bed while your husband is asleep.  You'll wake up the next morning thinking, "What have I done?"

Impulse buys – never buy anything late at night in bed while your husband is asleep. You’ll wake up the next morning thinking, “What have I done?”

 

After doing some market pricing research and ebay trolling, I set the starting bid and waited, and waited, and waited.  After not seeing any interest from buyers after a couple of days I was feeling a little dejected.  So, I added a little ‘threat’ in the description section.  Basically saying that “this is the best price you’ll ever get for this bag, and if this bag doesn’t sell by the end of the listing it’s going back to the store, and you will never see this price again.”  People started showing interest, emailing me questions, and finally, I got 2 bids.

After all said and done (after S&H, ebay fees), I made a BIG whopping 20 bucks!  What a BIG freaking waste of time!  J saw it differently.  He said it wasn’t a waste of time since I really didn’t do anything, and asked me to list some of his stuff.  I said, “You want to do it, you do it.  I’m not wasting my time trying to sell stuff on ebay.”

At least I diverted the crisis – I got rid of the bag, and avoided ‘the lecture’.

This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Very 1st Sale!

  1. Juin says:

    Nice. Congrats. At least you got $20 out of the deal.

Leave a Reply

