Over The Hill

I’m officially over the hill.  It appears everyone else was more excited about my 40th than I was.  Gifts and cards started arriving last week.

The first gift to arrive was from J.  I know it's bad manners to check on gifts, but I wasn't familiar with champagne so I 'Googled' it today.  J, you are in so MUCH TROUBLE!  Good thing we didn't just down it obliviously.  This bottle will be waiting for you when you guys come out here.

The first gift to arrive was from J. I know it’s bad manners to check on gifts, but I wasn’t familiar with champagne so I ‘Googled’ it today. J, you are in so MUCH TROUBLE! Good thing we didn’t just down it obliviously. This bottle will be waiting for you when you guys come out here.

Emails and phone calls came in throughout the day and well into the night.  Woke up grumpy just thinking that I was 40.  Poor J…bore the brunt of that grumpiness.

The office decorated my office with balloons and ribbons, got me a cake, and these flowers.

The office decorated my office with balloons and ribbons, got me a cake, and these flowers.

Slowly the day improved as people reminded me that I was still young (given that most others were much older than I), got a few ‘Happy Birthdays’ from patients, and a few emails to put a smile on my face – B sent me a picture of the Kona Pie from a few days ago, and reminded me that I shouldn’t fast on my birthday (I really like this girl, and S should really marry her before someone snatches her away).

photo.JPG

When I got home from work, a package from Amazon was sitting at the doorstep.  Immediately, I knew it was a tripod (because it wasn’t wrapped in anything, not even packaged in an inconspicuous cardboard box), but wasn’t sure who it was from.

It was from J.

It was from J.  Unfortunately, he didn’t buy it from Costco, which had a better price and package.  So we’re going to Costco tomorrow, and sending this one back to Amazon.

This year’s theme appeared to revolve around photography, because F sent me a gift certificate for photography lessons.

J made tuna steak dinner.

Tuna steak dinner replaced the usual steak dinner.

Just as good as steak, and less heavy.

Just as good as steak, and less heavy.

Dessert was cheese cake from Whole Foods.

Dessert was cheese cake from Whole Foods.

Sure, turning 40 is nothing to brag about, but knowing how many close friends and family care about you getting older is priceless.

This entry was posted in Family, Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Over The Hill

  1. Juin says:

    Who fasts on their birthday?? It’s all about perspective. A couple of colleagues in their 50s and 60s told me once that they would love to turn 40 again. You ARE young. Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday to you. Happy birthday dear Dr. L. Happy birthday to you. Now go get CRAZY!!

Leave a Reply

