Cherish Youth

A bunch of us will be turning 40 this year, and I asked J why we are so afraid of getting older.  Is it because we’re losing our youth, looks, energy?  Or it is simply we’re just that much closer to the end of life?

I often think that the young ones don’t realize how good they have it.  If I could be 28 again, even if I can’t find a job, I’d be ready to make a deal with the devil.  Youth is the best asset one can never get back.  Sure, we all feel younger than our stated age, but there’s no denying that the physical body is crumbling.  Everything is sagging and creaking, like a dilapidated haunted house.

There’s a reason why the elderly keep telling me…

“DON’T get old”

“Getting old SUCKS”

Right now, I’m not so concerned about the sagging or the creaking.  Yet.  But I am worried how things are going to change once I hit menopause.

In terms of looks, asians as a whole age a little slower.

That is until we hit menopause.  Then it’s BANG, POW…a scary precipice.

I think part of the problem is that asian women do not believe in staying active and exercising on a regular basis.  All they know is to stay out of the sun (which is extremely important to keep them looking young for as long as they’ve been able to).  However, once they hit menopause, they let everything loose (and all hell breaks loose).

So, my vain self is frantically searching for answers.  How do I slow down my aging process?  How am I going to look when I hit menopause?  Then I remembered – the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree.

“Look at mom, and you’ll get an idea of how you’ll look in the future.”

IMG_3434

Her hair is naturally black (she’s never colored it in her entire life), the wrinkles on the forehead were the result of raising me, her small eyes…well, they’re tiny.  Anyone want to take a stab at her age?

Mom was 67 when this picture was taken last year.  Pretty good for someone who’s 67 and has never had any procedures done.

Of course, there’s no telling if dad decides to throw a wrench into the mix.  However, for a 70 year old, he’s got the vibrancy and curiosity of a 5 year old.

Now if I could have her looks and his mentality when I hit 70, I’ll be OK.  Really.

This entry was posted in 老了, Family, Tahiti. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

