Learning To Cook

Running 20+ miles a week, and I can’t lose weight is a shame.  I can’t really blame it on menopause since I’m really not there yet (I’m not even perimenopausal).  So I’m finally admitting that it’s my diet.  I eat way too much for my size, and I eat too much ‘bad’ stuff (e.g., one Costco chicken a week, free breakfast burrito at work).  I’ve finally buckled down last week and vowed to eat less and healthier (fruits, vegetables, fish), which means I now have to cook.

For decades, my specialty had been instant noodles, rice (as long as I have a rice cooker I’m familiar with), and eggs.  In the past week, under J’s tutelage, I’ve added one more dish to my repertoire…Costco pre-packaged fish.  A dash of salt, pepper, and J’s barbeque dry rub, throw it on the skillet with some sliced mushrooms, and 10 minutes later…Voila!  A tasty fish dish.

 

This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Learning To Cook

  1. myblankeynme says:

    finally… a doctor eats her fruits and vegetables.

  2. Vy says:

    Fish is fruit de mer, but not real fruit either

  3. SY says:

    I am in biking and elliptical hell! Still no running for me… Have to go back to the doctor after my 8 weeks of PT.

    • LY says:

      I feel your pain. At least you’re doing something, I just took 6 months off and did absolutely nothing when I was injured. I figured nothing else is as good as running, and every other activity is just pure torture. Trust me, there is light at the end of this long tunnel.

  4. SY says:

    Thanks, that makes me feel better.

Leave a Reply

