Slowing Building Up The Mileage

I’ve slowly built up my mileage to 16 miles a week by now.  I still have a ways to go before hitting my baseline weekly mileage, which is 25 miles.  Every time the achilles starts to hurt, I scale back.  However, since getting rid of hill running I’ve had less flare ups.  The goal is to get back up to 25 miles/wk by end of June, then I can probably start training again in time for the CIM held in early December.  Whether I’m going to try for a BQ or for fun will depend entirely on the achilles.

One of the things I love most about CA is the weather.  I remember back in AZ, I never got the chance to sleep past 6am on weekends during the summer months because it would get too hot to run after 7am.  Now, I can sleep ’til 10am and still get in a comfortable run.

This entry was posted in AZ, CA, Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slowing Building Up The Mileage

  1. SY says:

    I’ve been getting in some base mileage too, though taking it slow and mostly on a treadmill with the recent East Coast weather.

    • LY says:

      Can’t imagine the drudgery of doing your mid to long runs on the treadmill, but given the weather you guys have had there I guess you really have no choice. I probably would have skipped it all together and end up hating myself all week.

Leave a Reply

