A Baker’s Wet Dream

We went to Irvine for Korean last night, and in the same plaza we saw a line snaking out of a bakery store.  What is it with Asians and their baked goods?  Remember the Krispy Cream line out the mall entrance in Bangkok?

The bread line at 9PM! Who eats bread at 9PM? Are these people jet lagged?

This is a chain store of Taipei's 85C that dad had mentioned once before. He mentioned the store not for its baked goods, but as an example of China's disregard for intellectual property and lack of ingenuity. Instead of calling their bakery '85C Bakery', they named it '58C Bakery'. Either way, be it 85C or 58C, the temp is not hot enough to bake any bread. If you really want to give your bakery a temp, it should be at least 180C. Just saying...

Since I was sucker for lines, and we had nothing better to do plus the weather was just so comfortable, we decided to hop in line after dinner.

I get so confused with Korean food. I just ordered a soon tofu soup, and all this comes out with rice.

They also gave us 2 raw eggs, and J & I were debating what to do with them.  J said to crack it into the soup, but I thought you were supposed to mix the raw egg in the bibimbap.  Guess what?  I was right AGAIN!  I don’t know why I thought to mix it with the bibimbap, did I see it on a picture menu or did I see this in a Kdrama?

This is what I'd ordered. Tofu with shrimp, clams, beef in spicy soup. The tofu's 'clean' taste/texture complemented the rest of the spicy ingredients.

Anyway, back to the bread line.  It took us about 35 minutes from the end of the line to the cashier.  Looking at some of the customers’ piles of bread, you’d think there was a famine going on out there.

Max room capacity was 40...

but judging by the crowd inside there were more than 40. BTW, anyone recognize that 'nose' in the upper right hand corner 😀

Maybe they're buying for the whole clan, but every single tray we saw was full.

J & I exhibited more self-restraint

J had said the bread better be orgasmic, given how much time we’d wasted standing in line.  So what’s the verdict?  I had the coffee bread (see above picture, it’s the one between the tongs) which has mochi and red bean paste inside.  Unique, but far from orgasmic.  The blueberry cream cheese bread (the one with the blue in the center) that J had, however, was really good.  Would I wait in line for 35 minutes for that?  Very Likely, as I’m thinking of bringing some back to Tucson today.

I called dad last night to ask him if he has ever had the baked goods from 85C.

Me: 你有沒有吃過他們的麵包?

Dad: 我只有暍過它們的咖啡。

Mom: 你什麼時候去過?

Dad: 就有一次嗎。

Mom: 一個人?

Dad: 噯跟別人。

Mom: 跟誰?

Dad: 跟同事嗎。

Sorry I asked…

This entry was posted in CA, Family, Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Baker’s Wet Dream

  1. me says:

    Always causing trouble between your parents.

    The egg also goes into the SoonDuBu Jigae, but it can also go into the hot stone Bimbimbap. I want some darn Korean food now too. MMMMMMM I paid 15USD for a SoonDuBu in HK. They[‘re such rip offs everywhere.

    • LY says:

      That’s why I always say children destroy marriages facilitate communication :).
      The 2 of us were like country red necks debating what to do with the egg. Now that we’ll be moving to CA, we should become more well versed in Asian food.
      My soon tofu was $9, HK is almost twice that? Can’t you make your own?

  2. Juin says:

    I love Korean food–partly because I get all the free sides that come with my order. I’m very picky about the sides. The quality of the sides determines the quality of the restaurant. My favorite place so far? BCD Tofu in NYC. I hear Cali has locations too! so hungry now…

Leave a Reply

