What I Won’t Miss

Oro Valley has served as our refuge for the last 5 years.  We love the peacefulness and beauty of the area, as well as the courteousness of the people.  These we will miss.  However, one thing we most certainly won’t miss is the javelina.

These are the javelinas we saw at the Desert Museum when M&V came in March of last year, not our very own 'resident evils'. These guys can get pretty vicious when they feel that their young may be threatened.

It’s been a while since I’ve had a run in with our resident javelinas, so I’ve basically let my guard down, walking the dogs in the dark without wearing my glasses.  This morning when I brought the dogs out, I noticed that the neighbor’s garbage can was tipped onto its side with trash strewn all over.  My initial ‘un-neighborly’ thought was, ‘Now they’ll have to pick everything up.  That’s what they get for pushing out the trash the night before.’  What I had failed to recognize was ‘what’ had tipped the garbage can over.

As I got closer, I (sans glasses) saw 2 black ‘masses’ moving toward us across the street.  Alarms went off and I started dragging the dogs back home.  Truff felt he had to defend us by growling and barking, which made the situation worse.  One of the javelinas started running at us.  I was freaking out!  Thanks to grandma in heaven (I’ve always had this long-held conviction that not only did grandma ‘get me into medical school’, she would always get me out of a bind) the javelinas stopped at the driveway and didn’t follow us into the alcove, or we would have been in HUGE trouble.  I peeked out of the window a few minutes later and 2 of them were still in the driveway guarding!

Now I remember why I used to make J walk the dogs in the mornings.  It’s because of these guys.  Why can’t we live side by side in peace?

This entry was posted in AZ, Dogs. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Won’t Miss

  1. Juin says:

    They are quite cute :).

Leave a Reply

