I’m Growing A Third Head As I’m Typing This…

J & I were excited to have the opportunity to move to CA.  Before accepting the job, he had read something about Irvine sitting atop a plume of toxic chemicals, but we didn’t think too much about it until we saw signs at our extended stay hotel warning that the facility contains chemicals known in CA to cause birth defects.  WHAT!?!  

I really started to get concerned as I was having stomach problems for 2 days in a row.  If you know me, you know I have a stomach made out of steel.  I can eat anything under the sun and not get sick (aside from contaminated oysters in Mexico).  So I started researching on TCE and found that it can cause gastrointestinal problems.  As I’m reading further, I’m getting more paranoid.  Apparently the now defunct El Toro marine base in Irvine had buried tons of highly toxic trichloroethelyne (TCE), a chlorine-based degreaser, underneath the base.  Now that chemical has seeped into the water table beneath all of Irvine, and some suggest that a huge swath of OC could be contaminated once the TCE reaches the San Diego Creek.  If you know anything about OC, you’ll know that this area contains the highest concentration of million-dollar homes in the US.  Now, these will soon be toxic million-dollar homes.  
So I am packing things up today for J so that we can move to a different facility in Yorba Linda which is NE of Irvine.  We have now completely ruled out living in all of OC, and are considering only Huntington Beach at this point.  And as awesome as the asian food is here, J & I will not be eating in Irvine at all.  We’d rather drive further away up north to LA for food.  
How millions of people in OC don’t seem to be bothered by this problem is beyond me, and Oro Valley is really starting to look like a bed of roses in comparison.
This entry was posted in CA. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

