Season’s Over

My running season is officially over.  The achilles tendinitis healed and is no longer the problem, but I’ve developed a new injury that is absolutely disabling.  Not sure if it’s peroneal tendinitis at the 5th metatarsal, a stress fracture, or cuboid syndrome, but I can barely walk without any pain.  So I’m waving the white flag right now.  The plan is to stop running for the next 1.5 to 2 months to really let the injury heal, and then run the Eugene Marathon in 5/2011 or Newport Marathon in 6/2011 to try to qualify for Boston.  I realized that even if I were to qualify in 12/2010 during the Tucson race, I wouldn’t be able to run Boston until 2012, and the time is only good for 2011 and 2012.  However, if I qualify in May/June 2011, I’ll be able to run Boston in 2012 and 2013.  So everything works out at the end.  塞翁失馬, 焉知非福

This entry was posted in Marathon, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Season’s Over

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sorry to hear about your injury, but this sounds like a great backup plan. I'm sure you will BQ sooner or later, it's just a matter of time (no pun intended). – S.Y.

  2. L.Y. says:

    Such is life, what can you do but roll with the punches. At this rate, I'll be 40 by the time I get to Boston. J told me you're running Philly. Hope your training is going well, and have FUN at the race.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Thanks, yes it's my first, I'm excited! Hey that's not a shabby way to celebrate turning 40.- S.Y.

Leave a Reply

