Survived Memorial Day

The kids’ aunt V survived Memorial Day by being blessed with a light shift at the hospital.  One of her friends survived through a week confined on a boat (read: cruise) with his family, and I lived through the indignity of turning 37 today.  

The day started with dad calling at 7AM wishing me a happy birthday.  They normally don’t even remember my birthday, but on the rare occasion they remembered, they called bright and early.  So much for sleeping in.  

I spent the rest of the morning looking forward to lunch…
One pound of USDA Prime rib eye, cooked medium rare.
Paired with:

J says this is one of the best wines he’s had.  I thought it was a little spicy, but very smooth.  We got this from WTSO, and for some strange reason we can’t find much information on line about this wine.  Perhaps it’s due to the fact that they only produced 500 cases, and that the drink date is after 2011.  No worries, J got 4 of these so we’ll try it out again next year.  For those of you who want to try it, you’ll just have to come down here.


The wine definitely helped a great deal in letting me briefly forget that I’m 37, as I passed out for 4 hours after lunch.  Missed a few birthday well-wishers’ calls, but ultimately didn’t escape dad reminding me that I am almost 40 (Whoa. Not. So. Fast.), and that I should pay better attention to my diet.  Looks like it’s time for another bottle…
This entry was posted in 老了, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Survived Memorial Day

  1. Happy belated birthday!If you're fretting 37 then you really are in for a doozy of a day in a few years. Nice looking hunk of meat to acknowledge your advancing age with though. πŸ™‚

  2. L.Y. says:

    Thank you. For subsequent birthdays I may just have to start turning off the phone and getting liquored up the night before : DYes, the steak is a 'consolation' prize…

  3. opps! Happy Belated Birthday! Where did you get the prime meat at? Glad that veg is also part of the meal. (heh heh)

  4. L.Y. says:

    Thanks. We got the prime cut at AJ Fine Foods. They were having a memorial day sale for 50%. Costco sometimes carries prime cuts, but theirs look a little 'sad'. We were thinking about veggies, but the carnivore in me decided against adding more calories to a meal.

Leave a Reply

