Cooking

The thing with running for 2-3 hours straight is that you have all the time in the world to think.  It’s you and your mind, and they can potentially drive each other nuts during that time.  Last week, it was the rumination that I may actually be a Republican that drove me to run faster and faster; as if I were trying to run away from myself.  This week, it was the thought that I may in fact not be the perfect wife.  How so?


{Yesterday noon}
J: I’m always cooking, sometimes I wish someone would cook for me for a change.
Me: You know my cooking.  I’m not sure you’d want to eat it.
J: That’s true.

Now there’s a really good reason why I don’t cook.  It’s too abstract…

{Last night while preparing the dry rub for today’s barbeque}
Me: So how many tablespoons of the each of the condiments?
J: It’s ‘equal part’ salt, pepper, chili powder, garlic powder, and a fourth of the oregano, cayenne, cumin, and paprika.
Me: What’s equal part?  That’s so vague.  
J: Just go by taste.
Me: I need exact instructions.

After much debate and anguish during my 18-mile run this morning, I realized that I didn’t want to be on my death bed regretting that I had never cooked for J at least once during our marriage.  So I decided that I will try to cook dinner on Fridays now that I have half days off on Fridays.  I will consult the How To Cook Everything cook book since every thing is all laid out for you in ‘cups’, ‘teaspoons’, ‘tablespoons’, and the occasional ‘to taste’ (I’ll make sure to avoid recipes containing the words ‘to taste’).

The reason for the barbeque is because the local supermarket had a “Buy 1 Get 2 free” on the ribs.  Nineteen to 20 lbs of ribs for $26.  Unless you’re vegetarian, how can you pass up on that?
J’s special dry rub…
On the ribs…
All wrapped up and ready to go…
Slowly grilled for at least 3 hours on our trusted (and rusted) Walmart grill…
Voila!
Paired with the Brookdale 2006 Cabernet Sauvignon that we got at Wines Til Sold Out (on the nose: alcohol; on the palate: not sure, but definitely alcohol; extremely smooth and better than the Courtney Benham).
Mmmmm…life is good!
This entry was posted in Marriage, Running, Wine. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cooking

  1. 1. I am dying from the Republican comment and you running away from yourself.2. I guess I won't be eating any grilled/bbq'ed food from your trusted and rusted grill. You can take the boy out of the ghetto but you can't take the ghetto out of the boy.

  2. L.Y. says:

    1. I've been brain washed by J the Libertarian.2. LOL, I can't agree more about that 'ghetto' comment. However, you'd be missing out if you don't try his ribs.

Leave a Reply

