Martial Arts

J recently signed up for aikido (合氣道) lessons.  For some time he had been thinking about picking back up judo (柔道) where he left it back in college, but for some reason, he ended up  with aikido lessons.  Go figure.  I had very briefly entertained the idea of joining him, but the mere thought of any physical contact with a stranger quickly beat back that crazy idea.  What was I thinking?  I don’t even like shaking hands with my patients for fear of picking up germs from them.  Then I thought, kendo (劍道)?  You’re covered from head to toe, and you fight with a wooden sword.  What are the chances of physical contact?


Me: Maybe I’ll sign up for kendo.
J: Why?
Me: Because I can definitely beat you using a stick.


At the end of the day, I decided against all martial arts, and just stay with yoga, where I’m guaranteed no physical contact with anyone.  It’s just me and my mat…

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

